• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.5L ('98-'01) Heater control valve vacuum line

Kiyp

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford ranger
Transmission
Manual
So while trying to diagnose why i have no heat in my truck i found that the heater control valve was missing the vacuum line and i cant find any disconnected lines anywhere, i also cant find any mention of where the other end of the line is, i tried pressing the valve manually and when pressed in it leaked fluid so it does need to be replaced however that does me no good if i cant find the vacuum line that controls it, its getting cold out down here in Florida and i drive for a living so i could really use some help on getting this fixed, its a 2.5l 1999 ranger. Ive heard the vacuum lines are a bit different on the 99 but i cant find any information on how it is

DILLARD000

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2001 Ford
Make / Model
SportTracJob2
Engine Size
V6~4.0L~SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
That missing\disconnected vacuum line has to be laying somewhere loose on the right side of the engine compartment?
Do you have the HeaterControlValve with 4HoseBarbs or the simpler one with 2HoseBarbs?
If you got the simpler one, recommend getting rid of that junk plastic factory BallValve,
& replace it with a VacuumToClose AllMetal PlugValve, like the 4SeasonsFactoryAir# 74603.

Kiyp

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford ranger
Transmission
Manual
That missing\disconnected vacuum line has to be laying somewhere loose on the right side of the engine compartment?
Do you have the HeaterControlValve with 4HoseBarbs or the simpler one with 2HoseBarbs?
If you got the simpler one, recommend getting rid of that junk plastic factory BallValve,
& replace it with a VacuumToClose AllMetal PlugValve, like the 4SeasonsFactoryAir# 74603.

Its a 4 valve

Kiyp

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model