• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Make sure you get paid when you wreck your truck

armadillon

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Automatic
Hey y'all, I just wanted to mention something. I was doing some searching and I came across a couple of threads where people wrecked their truck :bawling:.
I saw a few comments like "Aw insurance never pays enough for the work you put in" or "nah they didn't pay, I just had liability" blah blah

Ok, I admit, I'm a damn insurance agent. I'm not going to tell you my company's name because I don't want you thinking I'm promoting them.

What I want to say is this: If you're running an 80s-90s ranger and you've done a Solid Axle swap, larger tires, suspension mods, lift kits, you DO know you can cover ALL of that right?
For those of you who don't know, full coverage consists of only three different coverages. Liability, Comprehensive (also known as Other-Than-Collision), and Collision. We all know what Liability is right? You cover the other guys injuries and his vehicle/yard/garage (if you're the GT500 wrecking teenager). Add on Comp (For acts of god, theft, hitting a deer) and Collision (hit a car/guardrail/stationary object), you've got full coverage.

It's usually dirt cheap on our trucks because they're so old. What you may NOT know is most insurance companies offer a rider/endorsement (basically an amendment to your policy) called "Custom Parts and Equipment". Sometimes they even call it "Accessory Coverage". You can do almost any amount and $10,000 is probably no problem for the company. All you need to do is take photos and keep receipts/bills of sales/etc. Sometimes you can even just get away with photos of your build and be just fine without receipts as long as they're detailed enough.