• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Boss 302 Swap Advise

EBranger96

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
Hi guys I got a 1990 automatic 2wd and want to swap a 302 into it as well as a manual transmission (I’m a novice to this but have lots of experienced friends to help). Do you think it would be easier to purchase a running engine + transmission separately and look for the accompanying accessories or should I look for a 302 older mustang donor car? If I get a donor car, what are some good places to look to ensure I get a good vehicle? Would I need custom trans mounts and drive shaft adapters?

Angie

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
92 & 83 project
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
4.0L 302
Transmission
Automatic
Hi, welcome.

First bit of advise is to read over all these pages threads about what troubles and expenses people have encountered. Asking a loaded question as what is easiest? There is no easy to this, depends on skill level and how deep you want to go into the rabbit hole, and how much money you have for a budget.

As for vehicle depends on what your expectations are for your build ... EFI or carb is the first question you need to answer.

If efi, go for a explorer V8 as you get all the wiring bits and bobs with it (hopefully)... any donor car will get you 1 of 2 things ... a good engine or someone's money pit.

Ask all the questions you need answered, but there are many very informative pages in here to read first.

cheers and good luck

EBranger96

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
HI Angie,