• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Randall008

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford bronco ii
Transmission
Manual
I have a 1987 Bronco II. I am not a mechanic. I replaced the TFI Module.

I Screwed something up.

I was getting some slight hesitation when I pressed the gas, the idle was a little rough, and a little rough on start up and going from drive to park. I figured the ignition system.

I checked the tfi module and the case was broken and the metal plate on the back was no longer attached so I figured that was the culprit.

I replaced it and it ran ok for about a mile, then it started sputtering and trying to die, lack of power. Now it starts up and dies with black smoke.

Ive swapped between a couple tfi modules to test if I had a bad module, no good.

I think ive either screwed up the distrubutor somehow, or the timeing was super off to make up for the fact that the old tfi module was broken, or I messed up the timing while I was back there fiddling with it.

My neighbor put a timeing light on it, and the bank on the drivers side is fine, but the bank on the passenger side has tons of missfires and bad spark.

Have I screwed up the distributor, did I accidentally yank the sprk plug wires or another wire that I havn't thought of. Is the timing just super off?

I will say it looks like the TFI Module sits closer to the valve cover gasket then it should. It's almot touching.

Any advice would be appreciated,

Thank You for your time

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual

Randall008

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford bronco ii
Transmission
Manual
Hi Ron,
Thank you for your response.