• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

something clicking in tranny under load, accelerating/decelerating

phyd3ux

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
1999 ranger 4.0 @200,000 manual 4wd

I recently checked and filled transmission, and front diff, and transfer case, then this clicking under load started, I rechecked the fluid levels, made sure nothing was overfilled, checked three sources as to type of fluid.. the little black rubber dust cover on the transmission, i crawled under and listened while it was running, and removed black rubber cover and it sounds like its coming from there, and all gears but forth.. Im no mechanic, I've owned ford rangers for 15 years.. I know the basic idea behind the parts, but nothing as to what this might be. Or if it's related to the fluid. at first I thought maybe the transfer case was stuck between gears, or 2 and 4wd..
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
i remember something about forth gear being the only gear thats running the same RPM as the engine, if so, is whatever compensates for the difference stuck, or burned up and clicking.
this sucks, my only ride.

pcollins

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
GMC
Engine Size
4.8L
Transmission
Automatic
In 4th gear the input shaft is locked to the output shaft, giving the 1:1 ratio, this leaves the counter-shaft inside the trans unused for that gear. In all the other gears however it IS spinning and that's most likely what your noise is. Counter-shaft bearing going out. I'm no transmission expert however, some others should chime in soon.

phyd3ux

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
cool, thanks, Im not big on terminology, but ill look it up.

Im going to bring it into the shop today.
I'll post details later. 2/24/14