• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1991 Ranger xlt 3.0- Cruise Control problem

jameshe1950

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
Hi, newbie here,
Bought a 1991 Ford Ranger XLT, 3.0 v-6, Truck has less than 59,000 miles. The issue is the Cruise Control doesn't work. Can't find any documentation in the Haynes manual.
Looking for any guidance, tips, strategy to fix.
thank you for any suggestions.
Jim

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual

The electronic cruise control system consists of the following components:

1. Control switches
  2. Servo/control unit (throttle actuator)
  3. Speed sensor
  4. Stoplamp and deactivator switches
The throttle actuator/control unit is mounted in the engine compartment and is connected to the throttle linkage with an actuator cable. The control unit regulates the throttle actuator to keep the requested speed. When the brake pedal is depressed, an electrical signal from the stoplamp and deactivator switches return the system to stand-by mode. This system operates independently of engine vacuum, therefore no vacuum lines are required.

Attachments

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Apparently they used a vacuum system on some trucks also?

The vacuum controlled cruise control system consists of the following components:

1. Control switches
  2. Servo (throttle actuator)
  3. Speed sensor
  4. Clutch switch (manual transmissions)
  5. Stoplamp switch
  6. Vacuum dump valve
  7. Amplifier assembly