• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

03 Ranger 3.0 OBD not ready for smog after drive cycle

Socal

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
Hope this is the right section to post. I'm just learning about cars so forgive my ignorance. I need some help to pass smog -- OBD is still not ready - oxygen sensor, oxygen sensor heater, evap, and cat are not completed. Expired tags for over a month so far :(.
I have gotten a new battery and have completed a few drive cycle attempts since then, maybe 3 ( looked at the ford drive cycle) after the new battery, about 200+ miles. Driving stop and go and at 55 on the freeway with hazards on, in socal... Smog guy checked the Fuel trim and STFT on both banks were identically +12.5, so running lean. He said maybe a vaccume leak, i have visually inspected vaccume hoses/lines, the PCV valve was replaced like 8 years ago, but have not checked this with smoke yet. There are no codes. Months ago i had a p0102 code but i replaced the MAF and cleaned my K&N air filter and it did not return. This was all pre - smog attempts, so im thinking i should clean the new maf again b/c of the fresh K&N oil in the air filter...? Maybe I need more drive cycles? Im gonna replace the cigarette lighter fuse just in case and get a new radiator cap. Any suggestions? Opinions? Truck has 97,000 milles and starts up great every time idles at under 1500 rpms at first ,then dips to around 1000, it vibrates a little but not a violent shake or anything.... no check engine light. Runs fine as far as i can tell but i dont drive that much. Thanks in advance for any tips. Hoping I don't have to just scrap my perfectly fine running truck because OBD monitors wont ready.

edit - I started the car and unplugged the IAC and the idle dropped to just above 500 rpms, like 600 rpms-ish - does this indate a vaccume leak as well?