• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

V8 Swap Thread - 1994 B3000 "Victoria"

Guanfy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B3000
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
Stock
Total Drop
Stock
Tire Size
15in
As the title says, I'd like to document this attempt at a V8 swap. It's my first time doing a swap where the engine wasn't designed to fit in the vehicle and I approach this with a certain amount of trepidation. However I still want to share this project with all of you warts and all until it's successful completion.

Last edited:

Rock Auto 5% Discount Code: DE2235E7692E8C: July 5th, 2021

Guanfy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B3000
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
Stock
Total Drop
Stock
Tire Size
15in
So... down to business. The recipient truck is my project truck a 1994 Mazda B3000 I've named Victoria. I'll be attempting to swap in a 302 from what I believe to be a 2000 Ford Explorer.

I do have:
A fully dressed 302 longblock that was pulled out of someone else's Ford ranger
The oil filter relocation, already installed
A vehicle wire harness from a 2000 Explorer
An ecu from a 2000 Explorer
Air intake with sensors
1994 Ranger EVTM manual
2000 Explorer Wiring Diagram book
Mini exhaust headers that were left on from the previous owner

I do not have:
The front end accessories or bracketry. Based on my reading here I know that some of it I can use from my existing 3.0 setup, while other parts will have to be purchased.
The motor mounts
Rad
hoses of various kinds
The 2 inch lift kit I wish to install before starting this
M5R2 from a '97 or above F150 to keep it a manual
Lots of other things I'm forgetting for the moment
My sanity