• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Replace Rear Main Seal? Leaking?

genhawk21

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Transmission
Manual
1997 2.3 @ 357,000 miles. Doing my first-ever clutch (because of a leaking slave cylinder) although it is certainly not the first clutch for this truck. Finally peeled it all back to the rear main seal. I have one on hand but I'm hesitant to replace it, because I have a bit of a history with "if it ain't broke I'll fix it until it is" and I've been trying to learn to not molest things that are fine. Pic is exactly how it looks, I haven't touched or cleaned anything. What do you smart people say? Is it leaking? Should I replace it? Or leave it alone? I'm not experienced enough to tell if the RMS is leaking or the gunk is all from up above.

On that note as far as I can tell the replacement protocol is to put a few screws gently in to pry out the old, then carefully press in the new with whatever works. Does that sound right?

RMS 1.jpg

RMS 2.jpg

Sloryd66

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B2500
Engine Type
2.5 (4 Cylinder)
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
4" Wulf
Tire Size
265/65/17
My credo
If I learned from my mistakes, I'd be a genius !!
Looks like gunk and not leaking. It’s a tough call but I’m kinda like you…an if it ain’t broken person. It’d suck if you went through the trouble to change it and the new one didn’t seat right and developed a leak you didn’t have. That’d be my luck. The crankcase is under pressure and if that was leaking, it would present more than what your pictures show. Just my .02, but if it were me, I’d leave it alone for now. You know best the time it took to yank the tranny and clutch assembly…would you be willing to do it again down the road if/when it did leak? That’s what you should base your decision on if you’re still on the fence.

RonD