• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Regular 4x4 or off road package (FX4)

Wittlewedwanger

Reaction score
My offloading experience tells me that I don't need the stock top model because I'm going to be replacing those parts either way. For example if I have (Chevy example is all I can think of right now) a Silverado 4x4 or a Z71 off road package with better Springs, maybe limited slip vs just 4x4 open diffs ect... Then when I lift the truck go with deavers and add lockers then that off-road package didn't even matter.

So my question I'm new to Rangers but I'd like to build me a decent mid size moderate trail rig. So is there any benefit to buying an FX4 or would I be just fine with the regular 4x4 seeing as how upgrades in susp, gears, shocks, travel, ground clearance, approach /departure angles, ect.. Are to come?

What was different about the FX4 vs the regular 4x4? More stock power? Different motor? Ground clearance? Styling only? Limited slip?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
The only real advantages for you would be the neater interior and that it comes with a 31 spline 8.8 vs the normal Ranger 28 spline 8.8 (if you stick with the 4.0)

The Torson limited slip will mess up hopes of a lunchbox but if you go for a full carrier locker it is worth more to resell.

Wittlewedwanger

Reaction score
Yeah the 31 spline was big in my mind I don't know why it didn't come out as I was typing my message.