• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

New Owner 02' XLT 2WD Auto 6 Cylinders U 3.0L - Help with wheel / tire choices

sheliable

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XLT
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Hey guys, just bought a super clean 2wd red XLT with 98k on it (absolutely jazzed about it) and I plan on making it look a bit more aggressive by installing new rims/tires, grill, bumper etc.

Here she is.

First things first I want to think about wheels so that I can plan for a suspension lift. I don't need anything CRAZY but I want them to look meaner than stock ya know?
My friend recommended K02's and Wildpeaks for tires. However I am an absolute noob as far as understanding rim/tire sizes and what would be compatible with my vehicle. Where do I start ? What do I need to understand before I dive into this? Can I upgrade the rims / tires prior to doing the lift?

Please give me some direction / articles or any other resource you know of to help make things a bit more clear.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

MikeG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
B4000
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
2"
Tire Size
235/75r15
What size tires/wheels do you have now? What engine, transmission, and gears in the axles? 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive?

If you don't know all the answers, a picture of the door tag would help answer some of it, at least.

Increase the tire size enough and you may have to re-gear the axles, FYI.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
No, not usually a good idea to get the wheels/tires before lifting unless you are not going to put them on the vehicle, because if they are larger tires they will rub on the body without the lift