• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Installing my new 5.13's in my D35. Help needed!!!

Viva*the*Ranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys. I finally got my gears in, and last night I got started on it, but ran in to a few road blocks. I'm totally new to this, but have read the directions multiple times, and done lots of internet searching. Here are my problems/questions.

1: I have my pinion set in with the old crush sleeve, and it's REALLY close to where it needs to be. My pattern looks great on the coast side (in the center both side to side, and top to bottom) but the drive side, is closer to the flank, and a little low. That tells me that the pinion is too high, and needs to go down, but wouldn't that throw off the coast side?

2: The reason I used the old crush sleeve, is because I don't have a good way to hold the yoke to keep it from spinning, therefore cant crush it.... I have the diff up on my work bench, and don't have a vice yet. Anyone know a trick to keep it from spinning without damaging the yoke?

3: At one point I had the pattern looking almost perfect on both sides, but the gears didn't want to turn. You could turn them by hand, but it took quite a bit of strength. When gears are new, is it typical of them to be kind of stiff at first or did I just have the wrong shims on the carrier bearings?

Thanks in advance! Any input will be a huge help:icon_thumby:

-Denny

Todd

HCT
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
90/92/99/04
Make / Model
BIITR
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
Solid Axle Swap 4x4
Tire Size
No they should not be hard to turn.

When setting up gears you DONT use the crush sleeve!!!!!!!