• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Manifold Removal Tips

Mobtown

Reaction score
1988 SuperCab with a 2.9L, 4x4, and 5sp

I am getting ready to replace the entire exhaust. The manifold down pipe is nearly rusted through and the converter flanges are nearly gone and are leaking...

I am fairly skilled (I have done complete engine rebuilds before) and have fairly well stocked garage at my disposal but I am new to the 2.9.

Really I am looking for some tips specific to the Ranger. I know that rusted manifolds are a pain in general, but I thought maybe some of you could share your experiences.

For example, access to the back bolts is pretty limited, what sort of tools did you use and which accessories did you remove to get around the issue.

From what I have seen, I am tempted to do a body lift first just so I can get a few extra inches to work with...

Thoughts>?

Bow_Extreme

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Transmission
Automatic
Try removing the inner fenders. That gives you a bit more room to work. It worked last night on my 94 4.0. I did have a couple bolts that I worked ever so gently but in the end, they all came out with ease. I'm sure a little applied heat would help but may want to limit the application.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
I got mine out of a 2.9L with a 1/2 inch impact wrench, some extensions, and a lot of time. A 3/4 inch probably would have gone a bit faster.

Though honestly, you're throwing out the manifolds. Just cut the Y-pipe bolts if they give you any grief.