• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2003 4.0 V6 Ford Ranger, 4X4 Not Working

TheKaiser308

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
Hello everyone, as you can see this post will be about the transfer case and a problem with the 4x4. I tried looking up information everywhere else, but I could not find any sources relating to my problem and resorted to posting about it as a last resort in hopes of getting it fixed.

For starters, back in November, I purchased a 2003 Ford Ranger 4.0l V6 with 4x4. Saw this truck on Facebook Market and I liked it. At the time of purchase I did notice that the 4x4 was not working so I assumed it was a malfunctioning transfer case motor and decided to proceed with the purchase. Fast forward to today, I tried fixing it the problem and realized I may be in more trouble. I am new to the Ford Ranger platform and just getting familiarized with the systems so I'm learning as much as I can online.

Now what's my problem?

I decided to see which transfer case motor I have to buy the correct transfer case motor. After reading online, I assumed I had the electronic BW1354, just to verify I crawled under the truck, and to my surprise, I saw that the transfer case was a BW4405-8. After doing some research I found out that the BW4405-8 is for a Ford Explorer and now I'm wondering what a Ford Explorer Transfer case is doing on a Ranger. I'm assuming that the previous owner swapped that transfer case motor from its original for a reason I have no idea.