• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.5L ('98-'01) What have I missed?

trumpetguy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford/Ranger
Transmission
Manual
So my 2001 Ranger XL 2.5 liter which has never given me the slightest of problems now has me scratching my head wondering what I missed in trying to troubleshoot the problem. First let me make it clear that I am not experienced in engine diagnostics at all so I usually ask advise from the local auto store and go from there. It started after driving it a short distance and on my return the engine started revving up high upon shifting almost like the throttle was stuck. I tapped on the throttle a couple of times then it stopped only to then completely stop running and would not start after that. It turns over fine but seems to no fire. I first checked the fuse for the fuel pump and it was good. Then the fuel pressure. All perfectly fine. I changed out the relay for the fuel pump and still nothing. I am assuming even if my throttle was loose it would still try to start. I feel it is something electrical but again I am a total armature at this so I am reaching out for any advise on where to go next. Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

alwaysFlOoReD

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'91, '80, '06
Make / Model
Ford, GMC,Dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Squirt some fuel into the throttle body. Try to start the engine. If there is any sign of it trying to start then you have a fuel delivery problem. If not, then it is electrical.
Also... I'm not familiar with the 2.5 but Check the timing belt if it has one.

rumblecloud

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger Splash
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
1-1/2 inch front leveling
Total Drop