• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Timing belt need changing?

1967c10

Reaction score
Transmission
Manual
Hello everyone, I am a newb so go easy:) I just picked up a '00 with the 2.5 and was wondering if there is a timing belt that might need changing? I know on alot of 4cyl motors there is some kind of belt that should be changed at or before 100k I have 86k on it now and was wondering if it is somthing I should tackle. As long as I am at it, is there anything else I should know about that is a defininate must replace soon or just the usual, plugs, wires, belt etc...? Thanks!

Wicked_Sludge

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3-point-GO
Transmission
Manual
there is a belt and i would recommend changing it sooner then later. i believe your engine is of a non-interference design...but having a timing belt go without warning is somewhat of an inconvenience. :)

HAPPY_RANGER_GUY

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I just picked up a '00 with the 2.5 and was wondering if there is a timing belt that might need changing?
Wouldn't bother with the belt just yet. Odds are you won't see any problems with the belt till you break 125k or higher. I would look at the plugs certainly and perhaps a new wire set to boot.

T.

Sevensecondsuv

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Many
Make / Model
All Fords!
Engine Size
Many
Transmission
Manual
I would replace it soon. My 1990 2.3 (Same engine as yours, minus the stroker crank) started squealing at or above 2500 RPMs so I had good incentive to get it done.

It's a pretty easy job being a rear wheel drive vehicle. Just pop the accessory belt, the fan, and the timing belt cover off and switch it out. Just be sure you get the timing correct.

It took me about 2 hours to do the job but I'm a pretty experienced driveway mechanic.

HAPPY_RANGER_GUY

Reaction score