• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Superlift or SAS? I can't decide.

DJ Skillz

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
New guy here. Haven't done an intro thread yet, but I plan to.

I have a 2006 FX4 and I want to get it up higher. I've already done a torsion crank, but it's not enough.

I've been tossing the idea of either a SAS or the superlift kit. I'd love to do a SAS, but I've never done one before. My brother has (on a 4runner), but he's in Texas. I'm in CA. He can't help much. I don't have much fabrication experience, but I do have a friend who does and is willing to help me out, but he's never done a swap from IFS to solid axle, so he's not much help there either.

I have around $2-3k to spend on lifting the truck. The superlift seems like the easier way out at this point. Everything bolts on. I could do it in a day. Since this is my daily driver, that's looking more and more appealing. I just know that a few months down the road I'll be kicking myself for not doing the SAS.

Talk me into one or the other. If there is anyone in the San Diego area that has done a SAS on a ranger, I would love to meet up and pick your brains. I'll buy you lunch & beer.

4.0B2

Supporting Member
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 v6
Transmission
Automatic
what are your REAL plans for the ranger? dd mostly light offroad? purely offroad? what size tires? what gear ratio do you have now? motor? 5 speed or auto?
details man! details!

DJ Skillz

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
what are your REAL plans for the ranger? dd mostly light offroad? purely offroad? what size tires? what gear ratio do you have now? motor? 5 speed or auto?
details man! details!