• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Road Legal?

dannyboy3141

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Automatic
I am pretty new to all this. I have been looking into modifications for my truck as of late. I have been tossing up the idea of either a 4 link rear end or a custom fabricated cantilever rear end. What I want to know is what you guys would suggest between the two (the ups and downs of either one) and if they are road legal. Primarily in Virginia and in Pennsylvania. I don't want to know if "the cops wont notice." I want to know if it is legal or not. I don't expect people to know. But I don't want to hear "the cops won't be able to tell."

So anyway, what would you go with, why, and is it legal?

alwaysFlOoReD

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'91, '80, '06
Make / Model
Ford, GMC,Dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
I don't know. Get in contact with the DOT.

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
35x12.50R15
I'm not aware of any laws in California's books that say a particular suspension modification is illegal (though there are restrictions on lift height). Mostly it's common sense (I suspect a cop could still condemn your vehicle if you had, say, triple-stacked blocks and/or a two-foot-long cut & welded pitman arm).

Best is like AlwaysFloored said, look up the regs for your own state and see if there's anything in there that can be interpreted as saying what you want to do is illegal.

Good luck on it.

dannyboy3141

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Automatic