• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Ranger, or bronco II? Do either fit my needs?

kawana

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys, so im completely new to the 4x4 scene, and need some advice on what to get. Ive been going back and forth between a first gen cherokee, bronco II, or a ranger. I have $3500 to spend, but dont want to spend more than $1500-$2000 on the initial vehicle purchase. Id like to have a grand or 2 left over to mod it or fix it up. Whatever I pick will be my daily driver, but also a weekend offroader (nothing hardcore, just light stuff), and something Ill take camping. I need something easy to work on, cheap on parts and reliable! Reliability is very important to me. Ive researched the cherokees to death, and I think they're pretty reliable, but I wanna give the fords a shot. Are the bronco II's, and rangers gunna leave me stranded? How are they to work on?

Please dont sugar coat your answer, regarding their reliability. I know this is a bronco/ranger forum, but please give it to me straight. What are their known problem areas? What should I look for when checking one out? Worst spots for rust?
Edit: Also, what are the best factory equipped years for both the bronco II and ranger?
Thanks in advance for your input.

crbnunit

Solid Axle Swap
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
The Cherokee is a unibody. Enough said in my book. I have seen them do some incredible things and have seen them heavily modified but the unibody construction means it has a definite life span. Jeeps make great offroaders... Once you bolt a bunch of Ford parts on them. Jeep is the Hardley of the auto world. They are expensive. Parts are expensive. JEEP-Just Empty Every Pocket.