• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Planning a 5.0 Swap

94SPLASH

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 94 Ranger Splash 3.no 4X4 that I am planing a 5.0 swap into. I have a complete 96 Explorer 5.0 2wd that I'm gonna steal the engine out of. I have a couple of questions that I cannot find definite answers to on here. I am planing on buying the wiring diagram listed in the pinned posts.

1. I'm looking for opinions on this first question. The 5.0 has 225,000 on it do you think I should go ahead and rebuild it while its out? I,m thinking I'm gonna go ahead and rebuild it.

2. If I rebuild it I'd like to do some performance upgrades to it what would you guys recommend? I don't want to spend allot I was thinking a cam an roller rockers if it doesn't already have them. ( I am new to the 5.0)

3. I want to go with a manual transmission and keep 4X4 so what are my options? I am figuring either a M5OD-R2 or a ZF. Are there any others that fit? I would like to keep it somewhat sporty so I'm figuring to ZF is out. But correct me if I'm wrong.

4. From what I've read on here I'm going to need to get the PCM flashed for the manual transmission. Is there another PCM that I could use out of a manual tranny truck that would plug in and work, or would I need the entire wiring harness out of that truck?

5. I am toying with the idea of tearing out my stock gauge cluster and replacing all the gauges with after market, do you think that would make the swap easier or harder? Would it mess up anything else like the PCM?

Those are the questions I have right now any help is greatly appreciated. I will take all the opinions I can get. Also the Explorer will be getting parted out if anyones interested.

Teddyzee

December 2011 STOTM Winner
V8 Engine Swap
MTOTM Winner
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford