• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Noob from S.E. PA

90RangerDPJ

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9 V-6
Transmission
Manual
Hi all, newbie here.
Stumbled onto this site while searching for info on my '90 Ranger, found
the info I was looking for (which manual transmission) in a pretty informative
chart of possibilities for the models and years.

As a Ranger owner this seemed like a VERY good site to join, so
that was a no-brainer. :icon_thumby:

Actually the 90 isn't my first Ranger, I owned an F- series '73 Ranger in the late 1970's - was a nice looking two tone brown/yellow exterior, with a 302 V-8 and a 3 speed column shifter. Comfy ride, good pep, but had some rust issues and also started to have problems with the clutch or shifter, (can't even remember details :dunno:) so I traded it in for an E-350 maxi van.

As to the Ranger I presently own - It had one previous owner for the first 11 years of it's life, and with approx. 110,000 miles looked super clean for it's age and miles. Since I was 2nd dibs on getting it, the presence of a 5- speed manual rather than an auto is why I got to have it.
I knew the original owner, so the regular oil changes and garage kept history were credible and helped with deciding to take it for $2,500 (I believe the book value on it at that time as around 4,500). I was quite happy to have a 4x4 in decent shape, for low money, to use for all around plus use for beach travel in my mobile surf fishing hobby.