• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Needing a mechanic

DwayneD

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B4000
Transmission
Automatic
Hello everybody. I am hoping if you are a mechanic, or have experience with this that you will reply. I am not a mechanic at all. So I need some other peoples' input on the matter.

Truck: 1994 Mazda B4000 2wd aka Ford Ranger 4.0 automatic transmission.
For a while maybe a year or more. If I got in the truck and started to drive it without staying into it. The transmission would want to slip. Then it would catch and be good to go after 5 to 7 slips. Unless I had to stop harder than normal. If I got into it and was able to drive without stopping for maybe 2 or 3 miles. I would not have a problem. Anyway last October I got into the truck and it moved forward like 75 foot. Then it would not go forward again. The reverse work just fine.
I asked numerous people to help me understand what I should do with the truck and what was causes the forward gears to work. They all went over the basic is the fluid full, and what not. One person told me to take the pan off and see what was in it. If there was a lot of metal. Yeah the transmission was officially shot.