• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Hello!

tpginmaine

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hello everyone,
This got a bit long. Sorry!

Like many here, I've been getting lots of help from you guys for a while with no recognition - so thank you everyone. I actually set up my account a year or two ago but never 'participated.' In fact, I've never actually posted to a forum, I think. I'm not a mechanic, but I definitely try some stuff (especially if there's a video). There's a lot of Ranger info - articles, forums, YouTubes, etc., out there, but there always seems to be a friendlier feel to TRS, so I always end up here. I figured it was only right to do the Intro forum before posting questions. So here's my deal:

When my 99 Volvo T5, standard, wagon (which I loved) died (sort of my fault) Dec '14, I had no money (hence the sort of my fault). I needed transportation for work ASAP. Never had a truck before but kinda wanted one, so I basically bought the cheapest one I could find - a bare-bones 1997 B2300 for $1000. It looked light blue on that fresh snow, under that tree, on that single-digit-frigid, cloudy day, when I really just wanted to be done with my practically 24/7 search. Turned out it was really light purple, and was immediately, and affectionately, christened Barney by the family! I ended up doing a lot of work on Barney, mostly small, not too expensive, but important things. I really liked the truck and doing the work. Sadly, the alternator went after 10 months and the rust and other creeping issues were so bad that it would have cost thousands to even pass inspection. It had about 250K on the Lima engine.