• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

5.0 swap/ build thread

MadDog

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
302 V8
Transmission
Manual
So I am new to TRS and I will be working on my 91 ranger I just picked up from my uncle. Gotta love family for free stuff!

I will warn you that my build will go slow seeing that I am a returning college student and classes start in a week. This thread will be following me and my build with the help of a couple buddies of mine and i am sure there will be Numerous questions.

Here is what I plan on swapping out and into my rig:
D44 front (5.38 gears)
9" rear (5.38 gears)
302 5.0L v8
ZF-5 tranny
BW 1345 transfer case

Here are my first questions:
1 what years of f-150 can I get the ZF out of? I have gotten that they are from the 150 and that was about it.

2 is the BW 1345 a good match for the ZF? Or should I go with a doubler?

Pics to follow of me bringing her home.

Thanks

Rowdy Fitzgerald

Hog hunter
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1987, 1989
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
Solid Axle Swap 4x4
Total Lift
6”
Tire Size
Here is what I plan on swapping out and into my rig:
D44 front (5.38 gears)
9" rear (5.38 gears)
302 5.0L v8
ZF-5 tranny
BW 1345 transfer case

Here are my first questions:
1 what years of f-150 can I get the ZF out of? I have gotten that they are from the 150 and that was about it.