• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

thought on a way to increase fuel mileage. .just a thought

1996DANGERRANGER

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
okay so i'm not a wiz with gas engines (my degree is with diesels) but from my understanding the more vacuum a engine has the more efficient its running right? so my idea is instead of using engine vacuum to operate the brake booster and heater box blend doors have a remote electric vacuum pump for it. like on a diesel powered vehicle. now i do not know how much it would help if any which is why i'm asking, I've been wanting to put a vacuum gauge on my ranger and get some base measurements and then try my thought.

whats everyone's thoughts on it?

gw33gp

U.S. Military - Veteran
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Ham Radio Operator
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
33"
I don't think vacuum is a measure of efficiency in a fuel injected engine. High vacuum in a normal street engine just shows that the throttle body plate is not open very much. The more the plate is open the more air flow and in turn more fuel flow. Having a vacuum gage will just remind you to keep your foot out of the pedal and make the engine work less.

I don't think using that vacuum to operate mechanisms requires the engine to use more fuel. Using electrical power would require power from the alternator and that would take power (although minimal) from the engine.

Harris

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
I'm all for experimentation and research. I just don't think the vacuum take-off for the booster and few other little things would amount to much at all.

Never been one to stand in the way of a man of science, though.

Fordmastertech

Reaction score