• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

The Missing Linc (1987 4WD 2.9 5spd short short)

Rick W

Supporting Member
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1997 1987
Make / Model
Ranger XLT x2
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0 & 2.9
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
97 stock, 3” on 87
Total Drop
N/A
Tire Size
235/75-15
My credo
Never put off ‘til tomorrow what you can put off indefinitely
Here’s my 1987 “Lincoln” All Terrain

IMG_8361.jpeg

Rick W

Supporting Member
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1997 1987
Make / Model
Ranger XLT x2
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0 & 2.9
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
97 stock, 3” on 87
Total Drop
N/A
Tire Size
235/75-15
My credo
I’ve had it since 2020 and I’ve been running around in it for a couple years. I did most of the build out in 21-22, but never wrote anything up other than a few notes in the what did you do with a Ranger today thread.

I’m about to complete the matching trailer, and a few folks asked me to backtrack and talk about how I put it all together. So I plan on doing a quickie summarized history (as much as I can do “quickie“ on anything).

Last edited:

Rick W

Supporting Member
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1997 1987
Make / Model
Ranger XLT x2
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0 & 2.9
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
97 stock, 3” on 87
Total Drop
N/A
Tire Size
235/75-15
My credo
When I picked up my $40 piece of junk trailer special a couple weeks ago (unrelated to this truck) I realized that I never wired up a trailer electrical connection. I thought I pulled trailers with this before, but I must’ve done it all with the F250. So in keeping with my “upside down and backwards” methodology, I’ll start with the trailer connection fabricating.

Rick W

Supporting Member
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year