• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

It Has Been a While

Ford Doctor

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual
Hey everyone! My name is Erik and I live in Washington state. It has been many years since I was an active member on TRS, but it's nice to see things still are very familiar.

I spent ten years as a Ford technician, but left several years ago when customer pay repairs were drying up and warranty times were plummeting. I now work in the food industry, maintaining ice cream manufacturing equipment at a plant in Bellevue.

Looking forward to being a part of all things Ranger once again... :icon_cheers:

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15
I spent ten years as a Ford technician, but left several years ago when customer pay repairs were drying up and warranty times were plummeting.
If that's why you left don't make any plans to come back right now. It hasn't improved at all in the last 6 years.

To make it even more fun Ford has made the brake pads harder so they are lasting 50 or 60,000 miles and then started complaining that the dealerships aren't selling enough brake jobs.

Last edited:

Ford Doctor

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual
I definitely miss working at the dealership, but I don't miss having to lie, cheat and steal to make a living doing it. I still have quite of few friends working in the industry that are more than happy to set me straight when I get delusional and start thinking about moving my toolbox somewhere other than my home garage.

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member