• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

got a short some were

tmaxxman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual
ok i have a 88 ranger 2.9 4x4 and out of the blue i got a short in it some were but i dont know were to start looking for it what is going on is that i can have the key in my pocket and i can hear my fuel pump kicking on and it will just keep going it till i unhook the battery but it only dose it some time not all the time im not good with this kind of shit so any help would be greatly appreciated:icon_confused:

tmaxxman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual

tmaxxman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual
ok will do that i just didnt think the relay would be getting juice with the key not in it but i dont have a clue thanks for the help

Earl43P

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford F250 4WD
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
If you look at that schematic, it's clearly marked that the FP contacts have power at all times, regardless of key position.

I was completely wrong by saying "anytime that LB/O wire gets a ground (that is your potential "short"), the fuel pump will run". That would only be the case if the EEC (computer) relay was also energized.

I would still replace the fuel pump relay for your problem though.

I edited out that wrong part.

tmaxxman

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.9L
Transmission
Manual
If you look at that schematic, it's clearly marked that the FP contacts have power at all times, regardless of key position.

I was completely wrong by saying "anytime that LB/O wire gets a ground (that is your potential "short"), the fuel pump will run". That would only be the case if the EEC (computer) relay was also energized.