• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

cranking tbars 98 ranger

RangerIsLife

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0L
Transmission
Manual
Im a noob at this forum stuff

ok i got a 98 ranger completely stock and i read on here about people crankin there torsion bars and gaining 1.5. so i was wonderin if this is a good idea to do will it hurt anything? and how do i go about doing it? i figured if i get a 3 inch body lift and crank the torsion bar up to 1.5 i should have a total of 4.5 inch lift and it would look pretty damn good. but i dont wanna do it if its going to mess stuff up.

thanks
Zach.

99RangerBoss

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
they just ride like shit thats all i heard if you put better shocks in it makes a difference though

351Mazda

U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Transmission
Automatic
I cranked mine up in 2004 on my old 98. I went all the way to the stops with them. The Ex-wife is still driving it around, I think it's over 200,000 miles on it now. It had about 90,000 or so when I did it. Just get under there and look at where they connect, it's self explanitory. I wouldn't do a body lift though, I think they look like shit. The tires I had were metric, they ended up being about a 32x11.50 according to the tape measure.

07rangerfx4lv2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford ranger
Engine Size
4.0l
Transmission
Manual
how many times have you replaced balljoints, cv's etc..?

JohnnyO

Moderator Emeritus
Supporting Member
Forum Staff - Retired
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Type
2.3 EcoBoost
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
1.5"
Tire Size
265/70-17
My credo
"220, 221, whatever it takes."