• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Beach Driving the 2WD

Mrtin

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
I'm looking for opinions and tips on this. I have no experience driving on sand but am about to embark on a beach camping trip with my stock 2wd gen 2. This may entail a mile or two of driving down a beach to find a camping spot.

Now some people would have me believe that unless a 2WD is a serious pre-runner, it'll all but keel over dead at the very site of a beach. Then others act as though driving on a beach is about as simple as a mall parking lot. Obviously the truth is somewhere in between, but with no personal experience it's hard for me to judge.

Bottom line is, I'm hitting the beach. Do you think I should plan on a long walk, or do you think I'll be alright on two wheels with proper driving style? And what about that style? Some say take is slow, some say clip along in high gear to keep from digging in, some say air-down, others say keep 'em full.

I'm particularly curious because when I got this truck many many people told me it'd be worthless in any bit of mud, but in fact it does alright for itself. That makes me kind of skeptical of the beach nay-sayers but I don't want to get cocky as I really have no idea what I'm doing.

Oh and one more thing. How about getting unstuck from sand? Am I right in thinking it'll be harder than in mud or gravel? Any words from the wise will be greatly appreciated on all of these matters. Thanks guys!

cody93

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
air down, wider tires dont sink as bad. mabey find some wider tires for the trip? incase you get stuck, best thing is 2x4's shoved under the wheels, 2x6 or 2x8s work better. and never drive over the same ruts.

lil_Blue_Ford