• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Anyone Know Chevy TPI? I hope so..

alyssasdaddy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
OK everyone....

This is my problem maybe you can help. I am a mechanic but some reason can not figure this one out. Maybe I just overlooked some things that I should not have.

1987 Chevy Camaro Iroc Z 5.0 TPI California Car

What I did was rebuilt everything, Engine, Transmission, and Brakes as well as Paint and Body. The problem is High Idle no matter what I do it always goes back to 1500 - 2000 rpms. I have set the base idle to 500 rpm with the IAC disconnected and aldl connector in diagnostic mode. Set the TPS to .54volt. The car runs very well, transmission shifts perfect, no misfire, no intake leaks (sprayed FI cleaner at all points that may leak).

When the engine is at a low idle it runs kinda like it has a big cam installed but the cam I used is the one that was with the engine. The Rockers are adjusted (Pretty sure but if that may cause then I will go back through them) Timing is right where it says to put it. (I am using the FSM).

After I set the base idle and adjusted the TPS sensor it ran great RPM where it is supposed to be and fairly clean idle. But the next day back up to 1500 - 2000.

Any ideas?

I know this is a ford forum but the people over at thirdgen have not responded. Seems slow over there plus I am a brand new user there.

I wouldn't mind pouring gas all over it and setting it on fire.. But its my fathers and he had it since 87 from the showroom floor.

James86

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford,
Ford,
Engine Size
3.0 Flex Fuel, 2.5L, 3.3 Flex Fuel
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
WHY DO I KEEP BUYING DODGES?!?!?