• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

A Serious ? For Serious Answers!!

dmanmccann

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC
Transmission
Manual
Hey everybody im a newbie here. My question is for my 99 ranger XLT 4.0. I know there are some very similar questions about this but i'll give it a shot. I want to get an exhaust system put on basically. I want to run a magna flow SI/DO into a 2in pipe branching off into two 3in chrome black tips right in front of the rear passenger tire. Now is it possible to replace the 1st cat with a magnaflow high flow cat and chop off the 2nd cat and rework the o2 sensor to fit behind the first cat?? so basically 1 cat 2 o2 sensors? Ive read about back pressure and all that but i figure running 2in pipe wont hurt anything.

Basically i just want the full potential sound of my 4.0 to come out w/o any restrictive air flow. Headers are in the works but not now.

Thanks for all the posts if there are any....

4LO 4.O

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
As long as you keep all the o2 sensor's i dont see why it wouldn't work.
The cats that are installed from the factory are high flow units, so don't expect any horsepower gains from removing it.

Ranger5.0

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
im pritty sure you cant do anything with your cats....legaly that is. take it to an exasut shop and ask them what they can do, or will do. Thats prity much what it comes down to. If the are willing, then go for it. The second O2 sensor is there to compare the exaust befor an after the cat. When the cat stops working, it will let the user know

Sunk

Supporting Member
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.5 Eco
Transmission
Automatic