• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

86 ranger stalls Help!

mike86

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Well i have a 1986 4x4 ranger with the 2.9L FI and when its cold it runs ok (sounds like it misses) then after it warms up it sounds like it runs out of gas then wont start back up for a few min..

I replaced

Plugs
Wire
Cap
Rotar
Distributar
TFI
Re did the vaccume lines
check fuel press
check vaccume press

Couldnt find a fuel filter on it, There is a fuel pump on the frame rail. I was about to drop the tank and re do the whole fuel system Also i thought about relocating the TFI as it might be getting to hot?? idk... No codes come up.. No lights on... It just stalls like it runs out of gas...

Im lost and im a auto tech...

Millster

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
Grab a box-end spanner and give your ECU control relay a couple solid taps while the engine is running. I'd about bet anything your engine will die (or falter). I've been through all you've been through there and had no results until I happened to see someone else having issues with the relay. When I rapped on mine, the engine would consistently falter in a method similar to what it does just before stalling.

Unfortunately, I cannot say for CERTAIN that replacing the relay is the whole solution because the replacement relay I purchased was completely TU when I put it in. I ran the engine until it finally died in typical style and hopped out to slap the new relay in. Change completed, I excitedly dove in to start it and got nothing but cranking. When I put the old relay back in, it started right up and ran for about 10 minutes before dying again.