• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2001 brake signal lights don't work

RazorbackB

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
I am new to Ranger Trucks and new to this forum. I searched but couldn't find my problem. My tail lights work. But my rear brake and signal lights do not. I am getting a fast flash with the signal lights. I replaced the bulbs and checked the fuses but nothing. Can someone point me in the right direction?

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Fuse 3 is the left rear brake turn and fuse 7 is the right rear brake turn. These are in the underdash fuse box. Get a testlight and check these fuses, the testlight should blink when it is touched to these fuses when the signal lever is activated.

RazorbackB

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Fuse 3 is the left rear brake turn and fuse 7 is the right rear brake turn. These are in the underdash fuse box. Get a testlight and check these fuses, the testlight should blink when it is touched to these fuses when the signal lever is activated.
I appreciate your help! I checked the fuses and also used a test light to check for power to them, as you suggested. The blinkers are "fast blinking," but there is no power at fuse 3 or 7.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

It most likely wiring issue if someone added their own trailer lights under drivers side rear of the Ranger, main rear light wiring harness
If the wires there have not be messed with then problem is the Multi-function switch(turn signal stalk)

Brake/turn use 1 wire for each side for rear bulbs
Front turns and dash turns are separate wires