• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1994 Ford Ranger EGR code nightmare

p9142

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I have a 1994 with a 2.3L 5 speed with almost 170k miles. The truck runs great except I have been battling the check engine light for a couple months. I have replaced the EGR valve, EGR solenoid, and EGR DPFE sensor (twice). Each time I replaced the DPFE sensor the code didn't come back for approximately 500 miles, but once it comes back it throws error codes fairly regularly.

I am getting codes 326, 336, and 337.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas.

Bryan22

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
94 extd
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
94 2.3
Transmission
Manual
get a dpfe from ford instead of autzone :)

p9142

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
The two sensors I got were both from CarQuest, so they should be of decent quality. Is there any chance that the passages could be clogged? I can't seem to find instructions anywhere on how to clean out the passages. My Ford garage is less than helpful. They keep claiming that "It must be the computer," and also that, "These trucks almost never have EGR problems."

p9142

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
bump . . . any ideas on where to find the instructions for cleaning the ports would be greatly appreciated.

phatcap

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.5L
Transmission
Manual
just get in there with some throttle body cleaner or other solvent and some brushes or whatever you need to get the gunk off. seems pretty self explanatory to me.

beenjammin

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual