• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Automatic or manual for towing

TinyBear

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.5L Twin Turbo Direct Injection Eco Boost
Transmission
Automatic
how long a clutch lasts is entirely up to the driver. its not uncommon for semis to have upward of a half of a million miles on an original clutch, and a million miles or more on the transmission.

of coarse there are always examples of weak manuals and strong autos, but we cant deal with them from here on an individual basis. we can only look at them as a whole. and on the whole, manual transmissions are more reliable.
Funny you say that see i said ealier i am a Licensed Diesel Truck mechanic (AKA i fix Semis for a living).

And in Semis i have seen clutches and trans last past 1,000,000 kilometers with a good driver. BUT a Semi is NOT driving in stop and go traffic 100% of the time and most of its time is spent on the motorways were the clutch is not used. I drive truck myself as part of my job and the clutch on a rig is used ONLY for starting and stopping (unless your new LOL).

BUT in a transit application a clutch would not last NEARLY as long simply due to the heat factor. Regardless EVEN the BEST driver is gona slip the clutch a bit on take off its simple physics and that creates heat. And when done over and over in a stop and go condition. that heat builds fast shortening the life of the clutch.