• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Warranty issues on jacked/wheel upgraded new trucks?

DaveyFX4

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hey guys... this is my first time owning a brand new vehicle. All of my previous vehicles have been heavily modified and I'm starting to get the itch with the new FX4. Anyways with that said, how do you guys find Ford's warranty policy when it comes to lifting and adding bigger rubber? I know with certain companies (VW/Audi comes immediately to mind) get really sticky as soon as you start modifying new vehicles and I'm wondering if Ford is the same.

I'm looking to do either a torsion twist, shackles and a set of 31's or 32's or I may go bigger and do a full suspension upgrade and 33-35's.

The last thing I want is to jack it and up the tire size and have Ford deny warranty claims for items not related to the suspension and drivetrain components.

Thanks.

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I have heard of claims being denyed because of lift kits...

But a dealership here in Omaha has been known to park brand new, lifted trucks with custom paint and all sorts of add ons in front of Cabela's... so it may be something to take up with your dealership.

DaveyFX4

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I have heard of claims being denyed because of lift kits...

But a dealership here in Omaha has been known to park brand new, lifted trucks with custom paint and all sorts of add ons in front of Cabela's... so it may be something to take up with your dealership.