• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3L ('83-'97) Truck sometimes doesn’t move well in traffic

mdiiorio

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
Hello,
I have a thing I have been noticing on my 95 4 cylinder 5 speed since I got it 4 years ago, it is difficult to describe, and is an intermittent thing, but I’ll do my best. Sometimes in traffic, and usually more on a hot day, it seems to not roll in neutral, and be more resistant to moving forward from a stop in 1st. It’s almost as if the parking brake is slightly engaged, but it certainly isn’t. It never sticks badly enough to where I can’t move, and after cruising on the highway and coming to a stop again it seems to resolve. It is unpredictable and very intermittent, and actually happens pretty rarely but it is kind of annoying when it does. It never locks up or causes the truck to not be able to move, just makes it little more difficult to feather it out in first like I’m fighting the brakes. It’s been this way for years and hasn’t gotten any worse or better. I changed both rear drums and all hardware including adjusters and wheel cylinders about 6 months ago due to a leak and broken adjuster and it hasn’t made a difference at all, so I don’t think the problem is related to the rear brakes.
Mike

rusty ol ranger

2.9 Mafia-Don
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
177 CID
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
A legend to the old man, a hero to the child...
What kind of shape are the calipers and front hoses in?

My ranger did something similar (only much worse) when i first got it and it was the passenger side caliper getting hot and locking up

mdiiorio

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Manual
What kind of shape are the calipers and front hoses in?