• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Ranger on Explorer

jjarman

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger XLT
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
235/75R15
Hi everyone, I'm new to TRS and wow what a ton of information on here! So much so, that my older brain is starting to get all the information I need mixed up :)
I have 2 questions, hopefully someone can assist. We have a '97 regular cab, 2wd, V6 manual.
I know alot of the Explorer interior pieces are drop in ready, and I think anything between 95-01 will fit in the '97?
Second question, I just finished reading the thread about the Ranger cab installed on explorer chassis (not worried about bed at this point), with only minor work... I believe it was a 98 explorer and a 95 Ranger in the thread. Am I correct that the 97 Ranger can should be fairly simple to install on 95-01 5.0 Explorer?

Thanks in advance!

don4331

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
The easier answer 1st: The Explorer is 2" wider than Ranger, and difference was made in the door panels. So, things like dash, console & front seats swap, but door panels don't. And the wiring is significantly different through those year as Explorers have wiring for thing like rear wipers which Ranger doesn't. And newer Explorers will have PATS.

I deal in '98+ Rangers more so than '93-97 ones, but I can tell you only 2 of 6 bolts (cab front) match between '93-97 Rangers regular cab and '98+ regular cab frames. And moving cab mounts isn't exactly "simple".

jjarman

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger XLT
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
235/75R15