• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

question on valve springs, RPM limits

pjtoledo

Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Fords
Engine Size
3.0 2.3
been reading some old posts on building a 3.0
in several places there are references to RPM limits on stock springs,
some say stay under 5500 and if you hit 5800 to replace the springs ASAP.
does that apply to all years? or do the beehive springs on the later roller cam engines tolerate those RPMs?

GO SLO! (huh, wtf?)

Dirtman

Former Middleweight Moss Fighting Champion
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
It's up there.
Total Drop
It's down there.
Tire Size
Round.
My credo
I poop in the furnace.
I'm no expert but being the 3.0 is already a relatively high RPM engine I'd think the springs would be fine, and I have never heard anyone reference problems with valve float on a 3.0?

pjtoledo

Supporting Member
U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Fords
Engine Size
3.0 2.3
I'm no expert but being the 3.0 is already a relatively high RPM engine I'd think the springs would be fine, and I have never heard anyone reference problems with valve float on a 3.0?
from what I gathered it was imminent spring failure, not float, if over revved.

in all the years driving my 2000 I think it has only once seen 5K, and that took a while. it's still all stock.

RangerGord

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic