• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

New to Rangers

*[M]usicMan*

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Hello gentlemen (and any ladies, my hats off to you for being a Ranger fan)

I am new to TRS, and new to 4x4'ng in general. Just got my licence, and I am looking at a Ford Ranger (probably in the 2001 on range) to become my main vehicle, that I will own and work on for the rest of my schooling career.

I joined TRS forms to gain insight into what to buy, what to do, what not to do, and really educate myself before I blindly go into buying a vehicle.

So if anyone has any vehicle suggestions, or any suggestions at all, please let me know.

Ryan

GreatWhite

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2008 & 2001
Make / Model
Ford & Dodge
Engine Size
2.3L & 5.9 24v Cummins
Transmission
Automatic
welcome to trs, you will want to go buy a 4x4 no matter what. I'am just letting you know because I learned from my mistakes. Now, from what they tell me on the forum they only make 4x4 in 4.0 on the newer rangers(someone will have to clarify). I myself have the 2.3L though and it makes sense to buy a 4-banger, specially if gas prices go back up you still have a little extra money for whatever you need to buy being a struggling college student. I would also recommend to check www.craigslist.com, or www.race-dezert.com because during these times people are getting rid of some sick shit for cheap to pay the bills.

From what I have learned on here most of "TRS" fanatics recommend not to get K&N filter because it ruins sensitive internal computers yet there are some that argue it. Cheapest thing you can get that will give you performance gains by making the engine run more efficiently is a performance chip.

Give some ideas about what you have in mind for your ranger and ill give you some more suggestions.

bseamop

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission