• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3L ('83-'97) Need help w/ trouble codes- 1990 2.3L Ranger

KasenLeigh90

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
1990 Ford Ranger 2.3L (fuel injected 8 plug) Reg Cab 5 spd manual
Truck started to run rough out of no where about a week ago. Ran a KOEO and got the following: 41, 63, 34
Half the time on start up (especially in the mornings) it struggles to stay running. The other half of the time it will fire right up immediately and run perfect with no MIL for about 3 seconds, then itll start to die or bog down and rev up again over and over and the MIL will show up and stay there. Im not a great mechanic, id say im still in the apprentice level of knowledge. What should I be looking for that would cause these codes? Below are a list of parts ive replaced over the last year. Some were replaced because the parts themselves were bad, others were replaced because this is my project truck and i figured after 30+ years itd be smart to replace them anyway.
- All 8 spark plugs and wires.
- Both coils
- DIS module
- Air charge sensor
- Coolant temp sensors ( both of them)
- egr sensor, gasket
- intake manifold gasket
- throttle body gasket
- MAP sensor (not MAF, this truck doesnt have one)
I think thats all but ill add more or comment if i remember any other parts.
Idk what it is but my brain struggles to comprehend this, and its driving me nuts. The truck itself sits at about 164k miles but the motor has less than 100k.
TIA

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual
Code 41, oxygen sensor is reading lean.

Code 63, throttle position sensor is reading low

Code 34, EGR sensor voltage is low.