• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Fresh 289 into B3000 not starting

myagi

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hi. I'm new to TRS and am hoping somebody might have an answer or two about what might be going on with my most recent V8 swap project. I can't get this darned thing started.

First I will explain that I'm no stranger to engines but admittedly this is the first Ford I've ever rebuilt.

It started with my 2000 Mazda B3000 with the somewhat enemic 3.0 litre v6. Great little truck but just lacked the FUN factor. AFter reading about some other projects, decided the v8 was something I wanted.
I decided to swap in a 1965 Mustang 289 2bbl that I was able to purchase for a very good price. Before doing the swap, I thought I might as well freshen the motor up with new rings, bearings , and a bit of a lumpy cam/valve springs, etc. ( cam is high lift but does not require special pistons or tappets )
I also pulled the stock Mitsubishi 5 speed in favour of an AOD automatic and B&M shifter.
I've got brand new 8mm plug wires, accel Super Stock coil, cap, rotor

I got everything in place last weekend and tried to fire it up but in spite of a lot of pops and burbs , the engine remains unstarted after a few hours of checking and rechecking all is in place.
The stock distributor had a Pertronix Igniter II breakerless pickup in place of the points so I swapped it out in exchange for the properly gapped points (.017") and condenser thinking this might have been part or all of my problem.
I made sure my engine was set to #1 on TDC on the compression stroke and that my plug wires are set to the firing order specified for this engine.
Tried moving distributor back and forth 10-15 degrees from where it should fire. No luck