• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

’85 f150 suspension-> BII

SeanWilson

Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Okay this is all for my buddy. He has a stock BII i think its an ’87?.. We decided since he has the rig and i have the knowledge, that we are gunna tackle this together. We got a line on a ’85 F150, it has no engine but everything else is there. it has 4.11’s in both the 44 and 9’’.
We are looking at doing a complete suspension swap over and maybe doing it with some soft 63’’ chevy springs out back.

I am new to all things BII and ttb. ive always been ranger and straight axle.

so we are looking for some help for this swap.
1. What would you guys recommend for coil springs?, jeep xj’s or bronco graveyard soft ones? looking 3’’ lift range
2. Can someone lead me to the step by step on the way to cut and turn on the dana 44 ttb arms?
3. Will we have to out board the spring buckets from the frame?
4. Anything on the BII we should improve or upgrade on the frame or body while its in complete tear down mode?

The old 2.9 is blown, so we are doing the suspension swap and looking for a 4.0L at the same time. so we are gunna make a beast so that he can hopefully keep up with me off road.

We are located in South Eastern Iowa, so if anyone around the area has parts or is looking at wheeling together get in touch!

SeanWilson

Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
oh and defiantly going to cut the fenders to clear.

would doing a body lift help in any way with the 4.0 swap, or is it un necessary and it would be easier just to order a 1’' or 2’’ longer coil:icon_confused:

RICO9

07/2014 OTOTM Winner
Article Contributor
U.S. Military - Veteran
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Title says 84.
Make / Model