• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Mobile Ham Radio Antenna

Tbmitchell

Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1999, 1983
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Go Big Or Go Home
Transmission
Automatic
hi im new to ham radio just got a used but good yaesu ft7800 im lookin to find a decent mobile magnet mount antenna what are some affordable to start with thanks

AllanD

TRS Technical Staff
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1987... sorta
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
'93 4.0
Transmission
Manual
Magnet mount? you want a magnet mount?

Ok, let me tell you something I knew years ago that my close friends who got licensed first needed to learn....

That the problem with a magnet mount is that it leaves the coax outside the vehicle
and therein lies the weak link... getting the coax inside the vehicle past a weatherseal and a pinch point

That is the problem, the pinching of the coax.

Unless you are leasing a vehicle or still making payments on it drill a hole
put in an NMO mount screw an antenna to it and never worry about pinched coax.

ask around with other local amateurs someone local to you might even have the
proper sized Greenly chassis punch.

AD (N2TBI)

Last edited:

jmaynard

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I'll second the NMO mount recommendation. You don't need the Greenlee punch, though; a 3/4 inch hole saw does fine. Use a variable speed drill, and take it slow.

AllanD

TRS Technical Staff
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1987... sorta
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
'93 4.0
Transmission
Manual
I'll second the NMO mount recommendation. You don't need the Greenlee punch, though; a 3/4 inch hole saw does fine. Use a variable speed drill, and take it slow.
Yes, but a Greenley punch does such a neat and elegant job:)

AD

Jason

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
(formerly) 200