• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

3" wide shoes for 73-79 d60

foxracing5491

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
scroll to bottom for shorter verssion

i recently picked up a 74 d60 from a 3/4 ton 8 lug f250. my problem was that 35 years have not been too kind to the brake assemblies and the backing plates were completely rotted out. so i trashed the backing plates and kept the drums and hubs since they were pressed together with the studs.

i decided to take a walk in the local scrap yard where i knew of an early 90's f250 would be. to my surprise the f250 was gone and my hopes had been crushed, until i came across a 99 e350 7.3l turbo diesel. im not an axle expert but the axle to me seemed to be a d60. which i would of thought it should of been a d70 at least. but i began disassembling anyway.

i started by jacking up the vehicle
removed the wheel
pulled the drum (wasnt easy because the auto adjusting had the pads right against drum)
removed the 8 bolts holding the axle in.
slide the axle out.
remove the spindle nut.
removed the hud. ( at this point i noticed the backing plate mount seemed to be further in on the axle tube) i decided i would complete my goal of removing the brake assemblies and if i had to would re-fabricate the backing plate mount if i had to on my 74 d60.
removed ebrake cable while keeping the complete brake assembly together on the backing plate.
removed the 4-3/4 bolts holding the backing plate to the axle.
i then repeated this on the other side.

I now had everything i believed that i needed to get my d60 ready to put under my truck, since the axle already has 4.10 gears and i don't plan on putting in a locker until later.

parts recieved :drums, hubs, and complete brake assembly mounted to backing plates.