• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

89 ranger dies when slowing down

just_learning

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hi forum,
Newbie here.
1989 2.3 L dual plug EFI 2wd Ranger with a recently rebuilt engine dies when slowing down. Just replaced the battery this weekend, and now, have run into the stall/dieing problem. It ran well for the first two months of operation after the rebuild and inspection.
It starts fine, Idles properly at warm-up and idles down to around 800 rpm and runs well in city traffic for about the first ten minutes. Then about 90 percent of the time it will die as you slow down for a stop. The dieing occurs whether the speed is 45mph or 30mph or 20mph. Also, The dieing problem began the day I replaced the battery. Now, after the engine is warm, As soon as you depress the clutch and get it to neutral to brake, it dies.

Whats going on??
P.S. I know that the only engine code I occasionally see is the ERG valve. The ERG code has been inturmittant since the rebuild -- see no other code.

THanks in advance.... Help!?!?!!

Last edited:

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
If you keep you foot on the gas a little well it keep running.
When you changed the battery could you have pulled a vacuum line off by accident? Some of the vacuum lines don't have vacuum untill the motor warms up. Thus it wouldn't have any effect untill the motor was warm. which would be about 10 mins.
Just some food for thought.
Tim

just_learning

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
how to find the vaccuum leak

So, what is a good way to find the leak, if there is one?

A friend at work suggests a careful spraying of carb cleaner on all the Vac lines would show a leak while the engine was running. He said the effect would be a change in idle speed, usually higher RPM.