• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.9L Engine Removal with Manual Trans

belovedb2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I am doing the 4.0L swap and in the process of removing the 2.9L engine. It's a manual trans. The shop manual says to remove the clutch housing bolts, which I have done, and remove the hydraulic clutch hose. I am assuming that they are talking about the hose to the slave cylinder but I can not understand how this is accomplished since I can not even see the attachment point. The shop manual shows a clip so maybe it is a blind operation. Any Help???? When removing the engine does the slave cylinder stay with the housing or does it come out with the engine/clutch assy?

danger_ranger_club

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Automatic
im no expert but we took mine out a few days ago and put a new 2.9 in and all that was on the back of the motor was the clutch. so im guessing the slave was still in the tranny?

country0001

TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford,Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
The slave should stay w the tranny since its bolted in there. Unless it is new, I'd replace it all while its out. Ur upgrading to the 4.0 clutch anyways, right. Its better to replace it all now that its out. That's my 2 cents

belovedb2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I plan to change the slave motor. If the slave motor is not attached to the engine why do I need to remove the hydrolic line?

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15