• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

93 Ranger Stalling at highway speeds and fuel pump shutting off

trashymonkey

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 1993 Ford Ranger 6 cylinder 4.0L Automatic, I've been driving this truck for about 6 months now, and haven't had a problem like this until about 2 weeks ago. While driving at about 55 MPH or higher the truck begins to miss and then it will just completely stall out. Power steering will shut off and the brakes will tighten up as if the truck was shut off by the key. After pulling over I noticed that the fuel pump wont come on when the key is turned in the ignition and usually won't start for about 30 minutes or until I roll the truck forward in neutral, but rolling it doesn't always do the trick. This happens more increasingly at Highway speeds of 70 MPH (3100 RPMs). The fuel pump is only 4 months old and I just replaced the fuel filter after the first time it stalled. it seems to happen no matter what I do while driving it, such as accelerating and decelerating.
If anyone has any idea of what would be causing this It would be greatly appreciated because money is tight and I don't have another vehicle. Thanks in advance.

cp2295

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L swap, 8.8 explorer axle, IFS front end
Transmission
Manual
My credo
If you ain't first you're last
Weird did you clean the tank with the pump? And what brand? Crappy brands can go bad pretty quick I've noticed

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Loss of power at highway speeds can be collapsed Cat or muffler causing restricted exhaust flow, but at lower RPMs engine would be back to normal so shouldn't stall.

Fuel pump shutting off could be Fuel Pump Relay.