• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

How many guys work as mobile installers

Gum-B

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
Just curious to see how many guys here are in the mobile electronics feild. I have been working as an installer for about 7 years. Also how many guys are MECP?

Ranger SVO

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
I've worked professionally as an installer for 12-years. For me personally the MECP is a waste of time. The MECP is a one tracked certification, that leaves your career choice very limited. Unless you wanna be an installer the rest of you life, I would suggest that focus your time and energy into something more productive and personally fulfilling.

Don't missunderstand, I've enjoyed the past 12 years, but its time to move on. And I practice what I preach. I currently have an Associates Degree in Electronics and Saturday I will graduate and have a Bachelors Degree in Mathematics.

The MECP, I didnt bother. If its important to you, then go for it.

RobbieD

2.9l Mafia
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
My credo
Toonces drives a Ranger . . . . just not very well.
I know what you mean. MECP was fine when it first started. As I'm sure ya'll know, there's WAY too many hacks out there giving installers a bad name. As for me, I just "retired" after spending the last 32 years in 12 volt. Sorry to say it, but it was a lot more fun in the old days.

Gum-B

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual